Technology

Netflix will seek inactive users to cancel their accounts

Inactive subscribers will start receiving emails or app notifications this week to ask if they are using the service

Netflix will pop-up a question to users that have inactive accounts for a year. Photo: Netflix
  • Netflix will pose this question for everyone who hasn’t watched anything on the platform for a year since they joined it;
  • If users change their minds later it’s possible to restart the subscription.

The streaming media giant Netflix announced in a blog post that the company will now ask if its users have been using the service in a pop-up “are you still watching?”. If the answer is no, or even if there’s no answer at all, the service will automatically end the user’s subscription. “At Netflix, the last thing we want is people paying for something they’re not using”, explained the company.    

READ ALSO: Shopify announces Shopify Balance, a payment account for its merchants free of fees

Netflix will pose this question for everyone who hasn’t watched anything on the platform for a year since they joined to confirm if they want to keep their subscription. “We’ll do the same for anyone who has stopped watching for more than two years. Members will start seeing these emails or in app notifications this week. If they don’t confirm that they want to keep subscribing, we’ll automatically cancel their subscription”, explains the streaming service.

According to Netflix, if users change their minds later it’s possible to restart Netflix. “These inactive accounts represent less than half of one percent of our overall member base, only a few hundred thousand, and are already factored into our financial guidance”, explained in a statement Eddy Wu, from Product Innovation of the platform.  

READ ALSO: With a deal worth $100 million, Spotify aims leadership in podcasts

“We’ve always thought it should be easy to sign up and to cancel. So, as always, anyone who cancels their account and then rejoins within 10 months will still have their favorites, profiles, viewing preferences and account details just as they left them. In the meantime, we hope this new approach saves people some hard earned cash”, he said.